The new members of USPTO’s Patent Public Advisory Committee (PPAC) include Charles Duan, Suzanne Harrison, and Heidi S. Nebel, while the new members of the Trademark Public Advisory Committee (TPAC) are Adraea Brown, Rodrick J. Enns, and Dana Brown Northcott, (bios for all PAC members are further below).

Charles Duan is a Fellow with the Cornell Tech Research Lab for Applied Law and Technology. He is also a Senior Policy Fellow in the Program on Information Justice and Intellectual Property at the American University College of Law, and a Senior Fellow for Technology and Innovation Policy at the R Street Institute, a nonprofit, public policy research organization in Washington, DC. Prior to his current positions, Mr. Duan was Director, Patent Reform Project, at Public Knowledge, a nonprofit public interest organization, and he was a Research Fellow for Professor Paul Ohm at the Colorado Law School, a position funded by the National Science Foundation. He worked as a patent litigation and prosecution attorney at Knobbe Martens Olson & Bear, LLP, as well.

Featured Publications