Over 35 Conservative Groups to Congress: Oppose Riders to Fast-Track Loans from Crony Export Import Bank

September 16, 2016

Dear Senate Majority Leader McConnell and House Speaker Ryan:

On behalf of our groups and organizations, together representing millions of Americans, we urge you to oppose efforts to ease the quorum requirement for the Export Import Bank on upcoming spending legislation.

We have significant concerns on the procedure. Attaching this quorum change to a continuing resolution is the latest in a line of efforts that subvert Congressional processes. This provision would subvert the Senate approval process for board members of the Export-Import Bank and set a concerning precedent for future accountability.

We also have concerns on the merits of the policy. This provision would allow the bank to make larger loans with even less oversight--and it would be attached to unrelated legislation providing funds for the government after September 30. This would make it easier for the agency to make risky, taxpayer-backed loans to big businesses and foreign corporations.

American taxpayers and small businesses deserve better than this. We encourage you to oppose efforts to attach a provision to ease the quorum requirement for the Export Import Bank on upcoming spending legislation.

Sincerely,

Brent Gardner, Vice President of Government Affairs Americans for Prosperity

Mark Holden, Chairman Freedom Partners Chamber of Commerce

Michael A. Needham, CEO Heritage Action for America

Jim Martin, Chairman 60 Plus Association

Melissa Ortiz, Founder & Principal Able Americans

Phil Kerpen, President American Commitment

Thomas J. Pyle, President American Energy Alliance Coley Jackson, President Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Peter J. Thomas, Chairman Americans for Constitutional Liberty

Norm Singleton, President Campaign For Liberty

Andrew F. Quinlan, President Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jeffrey Mazzella, President Center for Individual Freedom

Jim Backlin, Vice President for Legislative Affairs Christian Coalition for America

David McIntosh , President Club for Growth

Michael J. Bowen, CEO Coalition For a Strong America

Stephani Scruggs, COO Coalition For a Strong America

Iain Murray, Vice President for Strategy Competitive Enterprise Institute

Dan Caldwell, Vice President for Legislative and Political Action Concerned Veterans for America

Tom Schatz, President Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Adam Brandon, President and CEO FreedomWorks

Andrew Clark, President Generation Opportunity

Andresen Blom, Executive Director Grassroot Hawaii Action, Inc.

Carrie Lukas, Managing Director Independent Women's Forum

Heather Higgens, President and CEO Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer, President Institute for Liberty

Seton Motley, President Less Government

Mat Staver, Esq., Founder and Chairman Liberty Counsel

Amy Ridenour, Chairman National Center for Public Policy Research

Willes K. Lee, President National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Pete Sepp, President National Taxpayers Union

Andrew Moylan, Executive Director and Senior Fellow R Street Institute

William Whipple III, President Secure America's Future Economy

Stephen Ellis, Vice President Taxpayers for Common Sense

David Williams, President Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips, Founder Tea Party Nation

Daniel Garza, Executive Director The LIBRE Initiative

Carl Bearden, Executive Director United for Missouri