

















Coalition to Congress: Stop Preventable Waste!

December 3, 2013

Dear Member of Congress:

On behalf of the millions of Americans represented by the undersigned organizations, we write to urge you to support the Eliminate Preventable Waste Act, sponsored by Congressman Jack Kingston. The bill would require federal agencies to show a reduction in the error rate for payments in federal spending. If the rate of improper payments increases in a given fiscal year, then the administrative budget for the agency will be cut by the same percentage of the error rate.

Improper payments are an increasing problem in federal agency spending. According to the Government Accountability Office, federal agencies reported \$115.3 billion in improper payments in fiscal year 2011 alone. For several programs, the error rate is remarkably high; the Disaster Assistance Loans under the Small Business Administration exceeded 28 percent in 2011, for example.

With the federal debt now exceeding \$17 trillion and ever-increasing spending levels coming out of Washington, it's more important now than ever to get spending under control. Holding federal agencies accountable for reducing improper payments is a great first step to reining in total federal spending. Americans deserve to have their tax dollars spent as intended, not wasted on improper payments.

I urge you and your colleagues to show support for reining in federal spending by supporting Congressman Kingston's Eliminate Preventable Waste Act.

Sincerely,

Phil Kerpen, President American Commitment

Dee Stewart, President Americans for a Balanced Budget







Christine Hanson, Federal Affairs Manager Americans for Prosperity

Grover Norquist, President Americans for Tax Reform

Tom Brinkman Jr., Chairman COAST (Coalition Opposed to Additional Spending and Taxes)

Penny Nance, CEO and President Concerned Women for America

Mattie Duppler, Executive Director Cost of Government Center

Evan Feinberg, President Generation Opportunity

Seton Motley, President Less Government

Amy Ridenour, Chairman National Center for Public Policy Research

Pete Sepp, Executive Vice President National Taxpayers Union

Andrew Moylan, Outreach Director and Senior Fellow R Street Institute

David Williams, President Taxpayers Protection Alliance