



UNION













April 3, 2013

The Honorable Pat Roberts 109 Hart Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jeff Duncan 116 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Senator Roberts and Congressman Duncan,

We write to encourage your colleagues to cosponsor and otherwise support your bill to create the Committee to Reduce Government Waste. This bill signals a serious step toward reforming federal spending and provides prudent lawmakers with an important tool to decrease the size of government.

The Committee to Reduce Government Waste is not a new idea—in fact, the committee existed first in the 77<sup>th</sup> Congress after it was proposed by Senator Harry F. Byrd Sr. (D-Va.). Named after its creator, the "Byrd Committee" was tasked solely with cutting unnecessary and redundant federal programs and was able to enact real reform—the Committee netted over \$38 billion in savings (in adjusted dollars) in its first few years of existence.

Created in 1941, the Committee was integral in dialing back some of the exponential New Deal growth in government. After years of explosive government growth thanks to "stimulus" programs, bank bailouts and healthcare takeovers, American taxpayers could benefit greatly from a similar effort aimed at decreasing the burden of government.

Your bill would create a Standing Committee that would focus solely on eliminating the redundancies and inefficiencies that add to the cost of government. While several committees exist today that encourage and promote new spending, this Committee would have the unique responsibility of decreasing outlays and finding savings. Tasked with this singular goal, the Committee could pave the way for significant spending reform.

The bickering over the past few months over a two percent cut in federal spending shows that fiscal restraint is hard to come by. Institutional changes, such as implementing a committee focused only on cutting spending, is the only way to ensure lasting reform for taxpayers.













Thus, we urge support of your bill to create the Committee to Reduce Government Waste, and look forward to working with you in the 113<sup>th</sup> Congress to promote fiscal responsibility.

Sincerely,

Grover Norquist, President, Americans for Tax Reform

Dr. Adrian Moore, Vice President, Reason Foundation

Amy Kremer, Chairman, Tea Party Express

Andrew Moylan, Senior Fellow, R Street Institute

Chris Chocola, President, Club for Growth

Duane Parde, President, National Taxpayers Union

Clyde Wayne Crews Jr., Vice President of Policy, Competitive Enterprise Institute

Brian Burch, President, Catholic Vote.org

Mattie Duppler, Executive Director, Cost of Government Center

Phil Kerpen, President, American Commitment

Andrew F. Quinlan, President, Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Chip Faulkner, Associate Director, Citizens for Limited Taxation (MA)

James Valvo, Director of Policy, Americans for Prosperity

Chuck Muth, President, Citizen Outreach

Colin A. Hanna, President, Let Freedom Ring

Phyllis Schlafly, Founder and President, Eagle Forum

Stan Veuger, Research Fellow in Economic Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute

David Williams, President, Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Dee Stewart, President, Americans for a Balanced Budget

Forest Thigpen, President, Mississippi Center for Public Policy

George Landrith, President, Frontiers of Freedom,

Gregory T. Angelo, Executive Director, Log Cabin Republicans

John Palatiello, President, Business Coalition for Fair Competition







TEA PARTY EXPRESS



Judson Phillips, Founder, Tea Party Nation

Karen Kerrigan, President & CEO, Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

Kathryn A. Serkes, CEO & Chairman, Doctor Patient Medical Association and Patient Power Alliance

Kevin P. Kane, President, Pelican Institute for Public Policy

Stephen Ellis, Vice President, Taxpayers for Common Sense

John Hood, President, John Locke Foundation

Al Cardenas, President, American Conservative Union

Mario H. Lopez, President, Hispanic Leadership Fund

Jim Martin, Chairman, 60 Plus Association

Myron Ebell, President, Freedom Action

Jonathan Bydlak, President, Coalition to Reduce Spending

Rich Danker, Economics Director, American Principles Project

Richard Viguerie, Chairman, ConservativeHQ.com

Rick Watson, Chairman, Center-Right Coalition of Florida

Sam Slom, President, Smart Business Hawaii (SBH)

Seton Motley, President, Less Government

Susan A. Carleson, Chairman & CEO, American Civil Rights Union

Brian Baker, President, Ending Spending

Lisa Miller, Chairman, Tea Party WDC

Jeff Mazzella, President, Center for Individual Freedom,

Tina M. Pisenti, Executive Vice President & COO, Cascade Policy Institute

Cc: All Members of the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives

Affiliations listed for identification purposes