Dear Members of the Missouri State Senate and General Assembly:

We represent organizations from across the country dedicated to promoting worker freedom. Our organizations’ nonpartisan analysis shows that increasing worker freedom produces greater prosperity and growth in state economies, and we urge you to consider these benefits as you contemplate “right to work” in Missouri.

The data are clear: right-to-work states outperform their non-right-to-work counterparts. According to the Bureau of Economic Analysis, right-to-work states have experienced greater job growth, population growth, and compensation growth over every significant measured amount of time. Adjusted for cost of living, workers in right-to-work states earn just as much as workers in non-right-to-work states. And union membership actually grew in many states after they passed right-to-work legislation.

Missouri is surrounded by right-to-work states and continues to lag economically. But it is not just border states benefiting at Missouri’s expense. According to IRS data, from 1992 to 2013, Missouri lost well over $3.5 billion of income to Florida, Texas, Arizona, and North Carolina – all right-to-work states.

In many of our states, citizens have been fortunate to enjoy the benefits of right to work, and our economies have prospered as a result. For those citizens in the states that have not yet passed this crucial reform, we continue to advocate for and explain the benefits of increasing worker freedom.

As part of this effort, many of our organizations recently participated in National Employee Freedom Week, in which we educate union workers about the freedoms available to them – how to opt out of the union entirely in right-to-work states, and how to be freed from certain dues in non-right-to-work states.

In years past, hundreds of workers across the country chose to free themselves of union obligations. Undoubtedly, there are many workers right here in Missouri who wish to be freed from union membership and all corresponding obligations. We believe every worker in America should be afforded that basic liberty.

The undersigned coalition of public policy research and grassroots advocacy organizations strongly supports right to work. Right to work would mean freedom for workers, accountability for unions, and an enormous boost for the Missouri economy.


Patrick Werner, Missouri State Director
Americans for Prosperity

Dan Greenberg, President
Advance Arkansas Institute

Caleb Crosby, President and CEO
Alabama Policy Institute

Jon Russell, Director
American City County Exchange

Phil Kerpen, President
American Commitment

Sean Noble, President
American Encore

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO
American Legislative Exchange Council

Coley Jackson, President
Americans for Competitive Enterprise

Richard Manning, President
Americans for Limited Government

Grover Norquist, President
Americans for Tax Reform

Scot Mussi, President
Arizona Free Enterprise Club

John Mielke, President
Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin

Colin Sharkey, Executive Vice President
Association of American Educators Foundation

Justin Owen, President
Beacon Center of Tennessee

Jim Waters, President
Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions (Kentucky)

Rea S. Hederman Jr., Executive Vice President
Buckeye Institute (Ohio)

John Stapleford, President
Caesar Rodney Institute (Delaware)

Larry Sand, President
California Teachers Empowerment Network

Karen England, Executive Director
Capitol Resource Family Alliance

John A. Charles, Jr., President & CEO
Cascade Policy Institute (Oregon)

Jeffrey Mazzella, President
Center for Individual Freedom

Matt Patterson, Executive Director
Center for Worker Freedom

Kim Crockett, Chief Operating Officer, EVP
and General Counsel Center of the American Experiment (Minnesota)

Chuck Muth, President
Citizen Outreach (Nevada)

Brian Balfour, Director of Policy
Dr. Robert Luebke, Senior Policy Analyst
Civitas Institute (North Carolina)

Matthew J. Brouillette, President and CEO
Commonwealth Foundation (Pennsylvania)

Iain Murray, Vice President of Strategy
Competitive Enterprise Institute

Dan Caldwell, Legislative and Political Director
Concerned Veterans for America

Rob Roper, President
Ethan Allen Institute (Vermont)

Jonathan Haines, Director
Federalism in Action

Brian Minnich, Vice President
Freedom Foundation (Washington)

Annette Meeks, CEO
Freedom Foundation of Minnesota

Marc Short, President
Freedom Partners

Andrew Clark, President
Generation Opportunity

Louie Hunter, Chair
Georgia Center Right Coalition

Kelly McCutchen, President
Georgia Public Policy Foundation

Burly Cain, Executive Director
GOAL Advocacy (New Mexico)

Wayne Hoffman, President
Idaho Freedom Foundation

John Tillman, CEO
Illinois Policy Institute

Don Racheter, Immediate Past Chairman
Iowans for Right-to-work

Sal J. Nuzzo, Vice President of Policy
James Madison Institute (Florida)

Jon Sanders, Director of Regulatory Studies
John Locke Foundation (North Carolina)

Charles M. Arlinghaus, President
Josiah Bartlett Center for Public Policy (New Hampshire)

Dave Trabert, President
Kansas Policy Institute

Seton Motley, President
Less Government

Michael Carnuccio, President
Liberty Foundation of America (Oklahoma)

Dee Hodges, President
Maryland Taxpayers Association

Paul D. Craney, Executive Director
Massachusetts Fiscal Alliance

Tim Jones, Chairman
Missouri Club for Growth

Mary Hill, Executive Director
Missouri Employment Freedom

Lew Uhler, President
National Tax Limitation Committee

Pete Sepp, President
National Taxpayers Union

Doug Kagan, President
Nebraska Taxpayers for Freedom

Victor Joecks, Executive Vice President
Nevada Policy Research Institute

Chris Rogers, President
New Jersey Taxpayers’ Association

Carla J. Sonntag, President and Founder
New Mexico Business Coalition

Dave Bond, CEO
OCPA Impact

Jonathon Small, Executive Vice President
Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Kevin P. Kane, President
Pelican Institute for Public Policy (Louisiana)

Jim Vokal, CEO
Platte Institute for Economic Research (Nebraska)

Don Racheter, President
Public Interest Institute (Iowa)

Lori Sanders, Outreach Director & Senior Fellow
R Street Institute

Mike Stenhouse, CEO
Rhode Island Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Paul J. Gessing, President
Rio Grande Foundation (New Mexico)

  1. Scott Moody, CEO
    State Budget Solutions

Maureen Blum, President
Strategic Coalitions & Initiatives

Derek Monson, Director of Public Policy
Sutherland Institute (Utah)

David Williams, President
Taxpayers Protection Alliance

Judson Phillips, Founder
Tea Party Nation

Brooke L Rollins, President/CEO
Texas Public Policy Foundation

Joseph Bast, President and CEO
The Heartland Institute

Lisa B. Nelson, CEO
The Jeffersonian Project

Daniel Garza, Executive Director
The LIBRE Initiative

  1. Vincent Vernuccio, JD, Director of Labor Policy
    The Mackinac Center for Public Policy (Michigan)

Mike Quatrano, Director of Civic Engagement
The Maine Heritage Policy Center

Amy Ridenour, Chairman
The National Center for Public Policy Research

Michael W. Thompson, Chairman and President
Thomas Jefferson Institute for Public Policy (Virginia)

Carl Bearden, Executive Director
United for Missouri

Rose Bogart , Chair
Wayne County Taxpayers Association (Michigan)

Rick Esenberg, President and General Counsel
Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty

Scott Manley, Vice President of Government Relations
Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce

Heather Greenaway, Executive Director
Workforce Fairness Institute

Carol Platt Liebau, President
Yankee Institute (Connecticut)

Featured Publications